

Certified 2024 PR Electoral Results

ATTORNEYS

- Marcos Rodríguez-Ema
- Sila M. González-Calderón
- Arturo J. García-Solá
- Rubén Méndez-Benabe
- Antonio J. Ramírez-Aponte
- Roberto Prats-Palerm
- Magda M. Boyles
- Gabriel Maldonado-González

PRACTICE AREAS

Government Affairs & Public Policy

An McV Government Affairs & Public Policy Alert January 9, 2025

On December 30th, 2024, the Puerto Rico State Electoral Commission issued certified electoral results for the 2024 Puerto Rico elections.

The certified electoral results confirm a New Progressive Party (NPP) controlled government with Governor Jenniffer Gonzalez Colón, Senate President Thomas Rivera Schatz and House Speaker Carlos (Johnny) Méndez Nuñez, all of whom are longstanding members of the National Republican Party.

These final results convey some variances from the day of the election as reported on our November 7th, 2024 Alert. The certified results produced a wider margin of victory for Governor Jenniffer Gonzalez Colón and a majority of more than two thirds of NPP members in the Legislative Assembly, therefore activating the Constitutional Minority Protection Clause, which resulted in two more seats in the House of Representatives and one in the Senate for the minority party.

The following is a summary of the election results, highlighting changes after the recently finished certified vote counting process:

Governorship

Jenniffer Gonzalez Colón, NPP candidate and a member of the National Republican Party was elected Governor edging the other leading candidates, Juan Dalmau Ramirez of the Pro-Independence Party (PIP) by approximately 133,000 or 10.5% votes, an increase of approximately 59,000 votes or 3.83% from the day of the election results, and Jesús Manuel Ortíz of the Popular Democratic Party (PDP) by approximately 252,000 votes or 20%, an increase of approximately 48,000 votes or 1.67% from the day of the election results. The remaining 6.5% of the votes were distributed among other candidates.

Resident Commissioner

Pablo José Hernández Rivera, PDP candidate, was elected Resident Commissioner, surpassing former Senator William Villafañe (NPP) by nearly 105,000 votes an increase of 5,000 votes from the election day results, with a reduced margin of victory of 6.4% instead of 9.5% of the day of the election



results. Pablo José Hernández Rivera was sworn into office on January 3, 2025, and is expected to become a member of the Democratic Caucus given his affiliation to the National Democratic Party. He has since announced that his Chief of Staff will be Maximiliano Trujillo, former State Director of the US Department of Agriculture's Rural Development office.

<u>Senate</u>

The Senate of Puerto Rico will be led by Senate President Thomas Rivera Schatz, elected for his third term as President. The Senate Composition by Political Party is:

- 19 NPP (4 At-Large Senators and 15 District Senators) an increase of 2 seats from the day of the election results
- 5 PDP (4 At-Large Senators and 1 District Senator) a decrease of 3 seats from the day of the election results
- 2 Puerto Rico Independence Party (PIP) (1 At-Large Senator and 1 Senator by Constitutional Clause)
- 1 Proyecto Dignidad At-Large Senator
- 1 Write-in Elected Senator

House of Representatives

The House Speaker will be Carlos (Johnny) Méndez Núñez, elected for a second time as Speaker. The composition of the House is:

- 36 NPP (6 At-Large Representatives and 30 District Representatives)) an increase of 8 seats from the day of the election results
- 13 PDP (3 At-Large Representatives and 10 District Representatives) a decrease of 6 seats from the day of the election results
- 1 Proyecto Dignidad At-Large Representative
- 3 PIP (including 1 At-Large Representative and 2 Representatives by Constitutional Clause *Pending litigation*). This represents a decrease of 1 seat as of the day of the election but an increase in total seats provided by the Constitutional Minority Clause.

<u>Mayors</u>

With all votes counted 41 municipalities will be administered by PDP Mayors

PUERTO RICO 787.759.9292 MIAMI 305-677-6626



and 37 municipalities by NPP mayors.

We wish to highlight the following Results:

- San Juan remains with Mayor Miguel Romero (NPP)
- Bayamón remains with Mayor Ramón Luis Rivera (NPP)
- Carolina remains with Mayor José Carlos Aponte (PDP)
- Caguas remains with Mayor William Miranda Torres (PDP)
- Ponce remains with Mayor Marlese Sifre (PDP)
- Aguadilla remains with Mayor Julio Roldán (PDP)
- Humacao changes from NPP to PDP with incoming Mayor Rosamar Trujillo Plumey
- Arecibo remains with Mayor Carlos (Tito) Ramírez (PDP)
- Mayagüez remains with Mayor Jorge Luis Ramos Ruíz (PDP)

<u>Plebiscite</u>

The November 5th election afforded residents of Puerto Rico the opportunity to express their preference as to the political status issue among Statehood, Independence and Sovereignty with Free Association with the United States. Statehood was the preferred option of the electorate with 58.48%, an increase of approximately 2% from the day of the elections results.

The content of this McV Alert has been prepared for information purposes only. It is not intended as, and does not constitute, either legal advice or solicitation of any prospective client. An attorney-client relationship with McConnell Valdés LLC cannot be formed by reading or responding to this McV Alert. Such a relationship may be formed only by express agreement with McConnell Valdés LLC.