## VORYS

### Publications

# *Ohio Statehouse Update*: Ohio House Speaker and Minority Leader Announce Key Committee Posts

#### **Related Attorneys**

Timothy J. Bechtold Karen A. Cincione Michael C. Griffaton David L. Hoeffel Thomas E. Niehaus

#### **Related Services**

Government Relations

#### **CLIENT ALERT** | 1.15.2015

Speaker of the House Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) and House Minority Leader Rep. Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) announced House committee leadership positions this week for the new two-year session.

The House committee structure for the 131<sup>st</sup> General Assembly has undergone some reconfiguration and expansion, with the total number of standing committees now at 19, a net increase of two over the 17 House standing committees that met during the previous session. Part of this results from the need to put as many of the 65 members of the Republican majority in committee leadership positions as possible.

Notable among the changes, a new Community and Family Advancement Committee has been established, and last session's Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee has been split into two separate committees. Likewise, last session's State and Local Government Committee will now operate as two separate committees.

Although the Manufacturing and Workforce Development Committee from last session has been discontinued, the newly renamed Economic and Workforce Development Committee will pick up the mantle of that committee's work.

The Ohio Senate has not yet announced committee appointments, but the remainder of the House committee roster, as well as the full Senate roster, are expected to be released the week of January 19.

Here is the list of chairs, vice chairs and ranking minority members announced for the 131<sup>st</sup> General Assembly Ohio House committees this week:

<u>Agriculture and Rural Development</u> Chair: Rep. Brian Hill (R-Zanesville) Vice Chair: Rep. Tony Burkley (R-Payne) Ranking Member: Rep. John Patterson (D-Jefferson) <u>Armed Services, Veterans Affairs and Public Safety</u> Chair: Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott) Vice Chair: Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek) Ranking Member: Rep. Hearcel Craig (D-Columbus)

<u>Commerce and Labor</u> Chair: Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy Twp.) Vice Chair: Rep. Anthony DeVitis (R-Green) Ranking Member: Rep. Michele Lepore-Hagan (D-Youngstown)

<u>Community and Family Advancement</u> Chair: Rep. Tim Derickson (R-Oxford) Vice Chair: Rep. Tim Ginter (R-Salem) Ranking Member: Rep. Stephanie Howse (D-Cleveland)

 <u>Community and Family Advancement Subcommittee – Minority Affairs</u> Chair: Rep. Kevin Boyce (D-Columbus)

<u>Economic and Workforce Development</u> Chair: Rep. Nan Baker (R-Westlake) Vice Chair: Rep. Mark Romanchuk (R-Ontario) Ranking Member: Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid)

<u>Education</u> Chair: Rep. Bill Hayes (R-Harrison Twp.) Vice Chair: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell) Ranking Member: Rep. Teresa Fedor (D-Toledo)

<u>Energy and Natural Resources</u> Chair: Rep. Al Landis (R-Dover) Vice Chair: Rep. Christina Hagan (R-Alliance) Ranking Member: Rep. Sean O'Brien (D-Bazetta)

<u>Finance and Appropriations</u> Chair: Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) Vice Chair: Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) Ranking Member: Rep. Denise Driehaus (D-Cincinnati)

- Finance Subcommittee Agriculture, Development and Natural Resources Chair: Rep. Andy Thompson (R-Marietta) Ranking Member: Rep. Sean O'Brien (D-Bazetta)
- Finance Subcommittee Health and Human Services Chair: Rep. Robert Sprague (R-Findlay) Ranking Member: Rep. Emilia Sykes (D-Akron)
- Finance Subcommittee Higher Education Chair: Rep. Mike Duffey (R-Worthington) Ranking Member: Rep. Dan Ramos (D-Lorain)
- Finance Subcommittee Transportation Chair: Rep. Cheryl Grossman (R-Grove City) Ranking Member: Rep. Alicia Reece (D-Cincinnati)
- Finance Subcommittee Primary and Secondary Education Chair: Rep. Bob Cupp (R-Lima) Ranking Member: Rep. Debbie Phillips (D-Albany)

<u>Financial Institutions, Housing and Urban Development</u> Chair: Rep. Lou Terhar (R-Cincinnati) Vice Chair: Rep. Steve Hambley (R-Brunswick) R anking Member: Rep. Christie Bryant Kuhns (D-Cincinnati)

<u>Government Accountability and Oversight</u> Chair: Rep. Tim Brown (R-Bowling Green) Vice Chair: Rep. Bill Blessing (R-Colerain Twp.) Ranking Member: Rep. Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent)

<u>Health and Aging</u> Chair: Rep. Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) Vice Chair: Rep. Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City) Ranking Member: Rep. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood) Insurance Chair: Rep. Robert Hackett (R-London) Vice Chair: Rep. Mike Henne (R-Clayton) Ranking Member: Rep. Heather Bishoff (D-Blacklick)

<u>Judiciary</u> Chair: Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood) Vice Chair: Rep. Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville) Ranking Member: Rep. Michael Stinziano (D-Columbus)

<u>Local Government</u> Chair: Rep. Marlene Anielski (R-Walton Hills) Vice Chair: Rep. Scott Ryan (R-Newark) Ranking Member: Rep. John Rogers (D-Mentor-on-the-Lake)

<u>Public Utilities</u> Chair: Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster) Vice Chair: Rep. Kristina Daley Roegner (R-Hudson) Ranking Member: Rep. Mike Ashford (D-Toledo)

<u>Rules and Reference</u> Chair: Rep. Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster) Vice Chair: Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) Ranking Member: Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton)

<u>State Government</u> Chair: Rep. Ron Maag (R-Lebanon) Vice Chair: Rep. Stephanie Kunze (R-Hilliard) Ranking Member: Rep. Ronald Gerberry (D-Austintown)

<u>Transportation and Infrastructure</u> Chair: Rep. Terry Boose (R-Norwalk) Vice Chair: Rep. Doug Green (R-Mt. Orab) Ranking Member: Rep. Michael Sheehy (D-Oregon)

<u>Ways and Means</u> Chair: Rep. Jeff McClain (R-Upper Sandusky) Vice Chair: Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville) Ranking Member: Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire)

In addition, Speaker Rosenberger named the following Republican House members to serve on joint committees during the 131<sup>st</sup> General Assembly. A joint committee contains members of both the Senate and House.

Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review Rep. Mike Duffey (R-Worthington), Chair, along with Rep. Bill Hayes (R-Harrison Twp.) and Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville)

Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)

Controlling Board Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell), and Rep. Jeff McClain (R-Upper Sandusky)